Google allows to block people on Google Drive Now

Google allows blocking people on Google drive. If you don’t want to get shared files from a specific person, now you can block them.

block and unblock people on google drive
Google shared details about blocking someone on Google Drive | image; Google

In the blog post, Google said if you block someone, then they can not share files with you. This restriction will apply to you as same as one blocked person. You also can share nothing with them without unblocking them. You cannot see any of their files and the same applies to them.

Google shares an exception that you can block no one if you are using Google Drive for work or school.

Google's announcement to block and unblock people on google drive
Google’s announcement about blocking people on google drive

How to block people on Google Drive desktop

  1. You need to open Google Drive desktop
  2. Browse to the whose owner you want to block
  3. Right-click on that file
  4. Click Block (there will be an email of the owner written with block)
  5. Confirm Block

How to block people on Google Drive App

Android

  1. Open the Google Drive app
  2. Browse file
  3. On the top-right of the file click the menu (three vertical dots) button
  4. Click Block
  5. Confirm block

iOS & iPad

  1. Open the Google Drive app
  2. On the top-right of the file click menu (three vertical dots) button
  3. Click Block
  4. Confirm block

How to unblock someone on Google Drive desktop

  1. Open Google Drive
  2. Click on your profile picture (top-right)
  3. Click Manage your account
  4. Open people & sharing
  5. Click Blocked
  6. A list opens containing names of blocked people
  7. Click Remove against the name you want to unblock

How to unblock someone on the Google Drive app

Android

  1. Open Google Drive App
  2. Tap on your profile picture (top-right)
  3. Tap Manage your account
  4. Tap people & sharing
  5. Tap Blocked (List opens containing names of blocked people)
  6. Tap Remove against the name you want to unblock

iOS

  1. Open Google Drive App
  2. Tap on your profile picture (top-right)
  3. Tap Manage your account
  4. Tap people & sharing
  5. Tap Blocked (List opens containing names of blocked people)
  6. Tap Remove against the name you want to unblock

Google allows to block people on Google drive feature is already rolled out. You can update your apps and use them.


Follow us on Facebook & Twitter and turn notifications on to miss no updates about What’s happening in the tech world – Free of cost. We daily share the top news you need to know.

We will highly appreciate your follow.

Leave a Reply